MATERIAL::diybikeworkstand

So I really like photography, and I was looking at my superclamp thinking… “I’m getting older and it isn’t comfy to bend over to work on my bike all the time anymore… I bet I can make something with this.”
(a superclamp is a lighting clamp by manfrotto… it’s ridiculously useful:

… and it made me wonder if I could put a bike in it.)

So eventually I came up with this:


It’s basically just plumbing pipe… galvanized iron and fittings. The whole point here is to have something that will hold the bike at eye and hand level without any wobble… so you don’t have to do too much straining and bending while you’re doing something like setting up your drivetrain for the third time in two days.

I used two superclamps, because… well they’re awesome, and I wanted another one anyway. I also didn’t have to use any power tools to drill through the pipe or fittings to attach the clamp that holds the seatpost… I was able to put it together with a single adjustable wrench and some muscle.

If you need a work stand and you have superclamps, I suggest doing this. If not, you can price out the ingredients and decide for yourself.
Pparts list:
(1) long threaded pipe, approximately your height.
(2) longish threaded pipes, long enough to extend out and provide a wide base to balance over.
(1) T fitting. I couldn’t find a 90-90-90 fitting so i used a 180-90 T and two nipples and two 45 elbows. This allows you to angle the main pipe but it also requires crazy torque to keep the legs stiff.
(1) floor junction fitting… it’s just a round plate for the top of the pipe with four holes in it and a threaded center.
(2) U bolts. These allow you to tune the reach of the top arm, and thus balance the stand per bike.
(1) short pipe to fit the U bolts on top.
(2) super clamps and one stud to put them together… or some other clamping mechanism. Just know that the clamp and how its secured really makes the stand.

Directions:
screw everything hard.

What’s nice about this is that it disassembles and reassembles. What’s not nice about this is that if you don’t already have the superclamps, you are left with an expensive problem of clamping the bike to the stand. The other parts are not expensive, but they add up quickly.

Leave a Reply

